Problems registering at AoCZone?
You can try resending activation email. If that doesnt work you can send an email here. If you forgot your password click here.
 Main Menu

 ForumsSearch »

 War is Coming

 Top Experts League #5

 Arabian Conquest

 Top Experts League #4

 Masters of Arena 2

 SteelSeries BO5

 AoC Recorded Games

 AoE2HD Recorded Games

 AoFE Recorded Games

 Major Past Tournaments

 Auto downloadedFind »

 Users currently online
Members (63)
»  Bleys
»  d0dge
»  Edie_
»  Janik
»  Kuvvy
»  LoLDL
»  MrEli
»  PaTiN
»  RiuT
»  toriC
»  Xtasy
Guests (66)

 AoC Clans Add yours »

 Links

 Ads

Gameranger out-of-sync error

Take part in AoC discussions, share strategies and gaming experience
Advertisement from Google 
 

Gameranger out-of-sync error

Postby  mmarss » Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:50 am

Hi everyone,
I have been wanting to play online for some time now, but when I finally tried, all I got was multiple out-of-sync errors.
I downloaded the current version of Gameranger from the official website and selected a game for Age of Empires 2: The Conquerors (1.0c). While it did give me a warning, saying that I was using a Port-Restricted Cone NAT Router, as Gameranger gave me the option of ignoring it, I hit "Continue". Everything showed up fine, and I was soon waiting in the foyer to my first online game of Age of Empires. Ping values also looked acceptable, with most between 200 and 350. Upon starting, I began establishing my economy, only to be told about 2 minutes in that the game had crashed, due to an "out-of-sync error" on my behalf.
3 failed attempts later, I decided that it might be a good idea to do something about that router warning, so I went into the settings and forwarded the Gameranger port (which I found on the official website to be 16000 [http://www.gameranger.com/support/network/]). Thinking that this would have fixed it, I joined another game. I started shepherding, built a mill (playing Huns, so no houses), began luring my first boar... "An out-of-sync error was detected." ( :x )
I am not sure what else to do, and unfortunately a good number of players on Gameranger are now quite annoyed at me, despite the fact that I have yet to play my first working online game; a situation I am sure you can understand I find to be less than desirable.
If anyone has any ideas as to how to fix this, or has encountered the same problems as I have, I hope you will enlighten me with your wisdom. For your reference, here is what I know:

I am attempting to play Age of Empires 2: The Conquerors (patch 1.0c)
I have an up-to-date version of Gameranger
I am running Windows 7, 32-bit
Gameranger tells me I have a "Port-Restricted Cone NAT Router", although the Gameranger port is forwarded
I can successfully play AoC on LAN, without getting an out-of-sync error
I have no mods installed, and did not intentionally cause the errors
I cannot identify any pattern as to when the errors occur, only that it has always been within the first 5 minutes of gameplay
I have annoyed too many fellow players for my liking
I would greatly appreciate any help you can provide

Many thanks,
Mmarss
 mmarss
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 09, 2012
 
 

Re: Gameranger out-of-sync error

Postby  _InDuS_TauruS_ » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:55 am

Run setupreg.bat if you have in your Age of empires II folder.
[18:50] CarlosFerdinand says: i accept u are my master

Carlojohn top -
[Show] Spoiler:
[InDuS]_TauruS__ says:
WWW.YOUNOOB.CO.JOHNNYNOOB.IN
[DZ]John_Mendl says:
u think im fool to try that link?



[00:15] CarlosFerdinand says:
u have no idea how predictable goths become if i pick them every game


[18:33] _pRoDiGy__ says: LN sux
 _InDuS_TauruS_
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mar 05, 2011
Location: India
Age: 19
 1863 (53%)
 

Re: Gameranger out-of-sync error

Postby  mmarss » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:38 am

  05 Jan 2013, 09:55 GMT » _InDuS_TauruS_ wrote:
Run setupreg.bat if you have in your Age of empires II folder.

I cannot find setupreg.bat, having looked in Program Files\Age of Empires II, the windows My Documents folder and in the GameRanger folders. Searching for this file online however, I found some references to a setupreg.exe, but only in illegal versions of the game. In my case, I have a legal version of AoC, purchased in-store legitimately. I don't think running the exe would fix my problems, but thanks very much for the reply anyway. I am glad that there are people willing to help.
Mmarss
 mmarss
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 09, 2012
 

Re: Gameranger out-of-sync error

Postby  _InDuS_TauruS_ » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:47 am

Have you played on voobly? If not, then install voobly's client and run game diagnostics. I don't know how it can cause oos only in GR and not in LAN.
[18:50] CarlosFerdinand says: i accept u are my master

Carlojohn top -
[Show] Spoiler:
[InDuS]_TauruS__ says:
WWW.YOUNOOB.CO.JOHNNYNOOB.IN
[DZ]John_Mendl says:
u think im fool to try that link?



[00:15] CarlosFerdinand says:
u have no idea how predictable goths become if i pick them every game


[18:33] _pRoDiGy__ says: LN sux
 _InDuS_TauruS_
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mar 05, 2011
Location: India
Age: 19
 1863 (53%)
 

Re: Gameranger out-of-sync error

Postby  PutaLoca » Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:55 pm

Simple solution don't play on gr play on voobly
 PutaLoca
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Oct 31, 2010
 
 

Return to General AoC Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot],  oshikuru and 3 guests

Legend: Global moderators, News posters, Tournament moderators