Problems registering at AoCZone?
You can try resending activation email. If that doesnt work you can send an email here. If you forgot your password click here.

Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Take part in AoE2HD discussions, share strategies and gaming experience
Advertisement from Google 
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  glokken » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:40 pm

You can't balance units by making stats look "logical" tocaraca.
tehhunnter: whites are the best though
 glokken
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Mar 19, 2014
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  Tocaraca » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:02 pm

  14 Jan 2018, 16:40 GMT » glokken wrote:
You can't balance units by making stats look "logical" tocaraca.


I agree, something like "OCD inducing" isn't a valid balance issue, but don't you think it's strange that Heavy Scorpions are no better at taking archer shots than regular Scorpions?
 Tocaraca
 
Posts: 228
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Florida
Age: 16
 1618 (47%)
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  JoshuaR » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:17 am

The trick is to play them when the mangonel line is not available (stash them behind your gate in grave blood).
 JoshuaR
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Oct 11, 2013
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  HyunAOP » Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:36 pm

> Apply Ballistics (just to see a sheetstorm happen) DansGame

> Give heavy 1 minimum range Kappa

> Drop Frame delay for heavy to 4 LUL

> 8 Pierce is not a bad idea PogChamp

> The movement speed is nice as well as the 14 attack SeemsGood


I think what makes them harder to get right away is the 1100w 1000f cost and then you need 600w 500f if your civ gets access to siege of the engineers.

Their damage to rams and elephants seems kinda meh but that's not really a problem with the unit.

I like to use them on islands as defence vs archer landings :lol: and sometimes on arena or vs some plums and sheet!
 HyunAOP
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Nov 04, 2014
Location: United Kingdom
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  Tocaraca » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:43 pm

Making Ballistics affect them would actually really help, especially vs plumes, cav archers etc.

I feel like the reason that Heavy Scorpion costs 1000 food and 1100 wood is because you don't need any blacksmith upgrades for them, so if you were to take the costs to fully upgrade Arbalests and the costs to fully upgrade Heavy Scorpions and put them side by side, it would be balanced. On Arabia, this doesn't really work, because you would've already had to research blacksmith upgrades earlier in the game, for units like Archers/Crossbowmen or Knights, meaning that having to get the Heavy Scorpion upgrade later in imp can be a big economy drain. It works in Arena and BF though, because you're less likely to be getting blacksmith upgrades, and after a smush you could go into scorps (especially for a civ like Khmer, except they don't get Atonement so their smush sucks) and not have to worry about blacksmith upgrade costs, only Heavy Scorpion and Siege Engineers (and maybe a unique tech like Double Crossbow, Furor Celtica, Drill etc).
 Tocaraca
 
Posts: 228
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Florida
Age: 16
 1618 (47%)
 
Advertisement from Google 
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  iamjuba » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:22 pm

Scorps would be too op with ballistics..
 iamjuba
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Jan 12, 2013
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  Tocaraca » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:44 pm

  15 Jan 2018, 19:22 GMT » iamjuba wrote:
Scorps would be too op with ballistics..


I disagree, it wouldn't help vs Onagers and Bombard Cannons at all (which are the main threat towards hscorps).

I know Mangonels would definitely be too OP with Ballistics though 11
 Tocaraca
 
Posts: 228
Joined: May 18, 2017
Location: Florida
Age: 16
 1618 (47%)
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  jojkov » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:21 pm

  15 Jan 2018, 22:44 GMT » Tocaraca wrote:
I know Mangonels would definitely be too OP with Ballistics though 11

Wasn't something like that implemented in one of the earlier versions of Forgotten Empires? I think it was Korean bonus or something like that.
PaD
 jojkov
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Aug 26, 2012
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  Poxo » Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:26 pm

1.0 Fe had korean mangonels with balistics.
Image
Image

#HUNWHOREHATER

#PrayforSet0

#Believe
User avatar
 Poxo
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: Oct 27, 2012
Age: 23
 1929 (47%)
 

Re: Is the Scorpion line balanced or does it need buffs?

Postby  jojkov » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:11 pm

Damn, i need to find that version and play it with friends 11
PaD
 jojkov
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Aug 26, 2012
 
 
PreviousNext

Return to General AoE2HD Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Legend: Global moderators, News posters, Tournament moderators